The Ocean Shores Community Association Inc. (OSCA) meets:

When: the second Monday of each month

Time: 7.00pm

Where: in Lounge One at the Ocean Shores Country Club

Address: Orana Road, Ocean Shores.

There is no formal meeting in January. However, OSCA, working with Byron Shire Council, the Mullumbimby/Brunswick Lions Club and the newly formed Arts East Inc. will present

The Ocean Shores Australia Day Celebrations

at the New Brighton Oval

on the afternoon of Thursday January 26th 2012.

The usual fun events will be presented, including the mullet throwing championships, Oz Day Singalong and Concert, sausage sizzle, world’s biggest lamington, plus some new events. It means fun for all the family. Details later.

Council staff attended an OSCA special meeting held on October 31st, to discuss

the Byron Shire Council Draft Community Strategic Plan


The ordinary OSCA meeting will be on the third Monday night, November 21st.

OSCA, the Ocean Shores Tennis Club and Byron Shire Council invites you a special “social inclusion day” at Waterlily Park on Wednesday 23rd November from 9.30 to 11 am to meet some neighbours, try out the exercise equipment in the park and share morning tea.

OSCA meetings are held to give the opportunity to discuss pertinent issues affecting residents and businesses in the Greater Ocean Shores area, the Coastal Far North of the Byron Shire. It extends from the North Wall at the mouth of the Brunswick River north to Wooyun Creek on the Tweed and Byron Shires boundary.

It encompasses the town of Ocean Shores, and the villages of New Brighton, South Golden Beach and Billinudgel including the industrial precinct, and surrounding rural areas of The Pocket and Middle Pocket, Wooyun and Yelgun.

This significant population area of about 9,000 people, almost a third of the Shire, can speak with a much stronger voice on important issues. OSCA can effectively represent the wishes of this emerging vibrant coastal far north of the Bryon Shire.

Between meetings you can Contact Us and give your input.

President: Jan Mangleson 66801108 or

Secretary: Roger Curran 66190308 or

Treasurer: Dianne Costin 66805901 or

Or write to us at P.O. Box 83 Ocean Shores 2483.